

IFAB Clarifies Penalty Double-Touch Rule: Penalties to be Retaken if Unintentional
IFAB Clarifies Penalty Double-Touch Rule: Penalties to be Retaken if Unintentional Spain – The International Football Association Board (IFAB) has issued a clarification to Rule 14, concerning double touches during penalty kicks. This follows an incident involving Atletico Madrid player Julian Alvarez, whose penalty kick prompted the review. The new rule states that if a player unintentionally touches the ball twice during a penalty, the penalty will be retaken. Previously, such a touch would have been considered a failed attempt. The IFAB's decision aims to ensure fairness and prevent situations where accidental touches could disadvantage the goalkeeper. "The IFAB wants to clarify the rule to ensure that the outcome of the penalty kick is not affected by an involuntary double touch," stated an IFAB spokesperson. The change will be implemented in all competitions starting July 1st. This clarification provides much-needed clarity and will undoubtedly impact penalty situations in future matches.